Jerry Our African Greys New Feathers

We are so happy to announce that our African Grey Jerry has 95% of all his feathers back.

We adopted Jerry back in 2001 and he has on and off been a feather plucker.  After changing his diet last year to only vegetables and Harrison’s Pellets and Roudybush pellets his feathers made a comeback….. Plus every other night on his dinner veggie meal we sprinkle some Hemp Seeds and Pumpkin Seeds (No salt ) on top of his veggies.

Check out Jerry’s photos below in chronological order.

Ann Zych – FunTime Birdy

Jerry1Jerry2Jerry1 Jerry2 Jerry3

6 responses to “Jerry Our African Greys New Feathers

  1. The last photo is exactly the look I’d expect from a CAG named Jerry! The “what’s with all the photo’s?” look!
    So tell me this Ann, do you feel the specific brand of pellets helped Jerry with his coat or a pelletized diet in general? I ask as Kelly has only been fed Zupreem Naturals (& “Chop”) & seems content with it…but you specifically mentioned Roudybush & Harrisons. What’s your profession opinion about this?

    • Hi Jane,

      I don’t think it is so much the brand of pellets as the Pumpkin seeds and Hemp seeds on his evening dinner. We only give it to him 3 to 4 times a week and not very much. Jerry is a night plucker so he only plucks his feathers when he and we are sleeping. The Pumpkin and Hemp seeds seem to keep him calmer at night.

      Zupreem is fine especially if Kelly is doing well and doesn’t have any problems. I always like to add diversity in all my birdies diet so I do also give all my birds a little Oven Fresh Bites by Caitec as well.

      Hope this helps.

      Ann
      FunTime Birdy

  2. Hi there!
    I was searching about feather plucking and I came across to your blog. I found it very informative. I’m so lucky to find it! My 12-year-old african grey has been plucking her feather for more than 6 years now, so she has almost no feather on her belly and legs and she sometimes plucks her shoulders and around her neck. I recently notice that she has some odd red feathers over her body, and it scareds me since I read about that red feather is sign of PBFD or other disease. Now I have a question that I really like you to answer. When did Jerry start grow his red feathers? Do you think that feather plucking effects the feather to grow red?

    • Hi,

      Yes, I do think that over time feather plucking can lead to red feathers. Has your African Grey been seen by an Avian Vet to rule out any medical problems? This is very important. All our birds go for a yearly physical at the vet’s office. Our Avian vet told us that Jerry’s red feathers were fine and that he is in good health. I do believe over time plucking and re-growth can cause the red pigment. Just to be sure I would take your African Grey for a full check-up.

      I like to tell Jerry that his red feathers are a sign of Royalty so that he can feel good about himself (whether that is true or not). My Mom likes to call his red neck feathers his “bowtie” (LOL)

      By the way, we have switched our blog over to a new hosting site. It will have the same great articles but with a great new look. I just wanted you to have our new blogsite so you can see all our new posts.

      http://blog.funtimebirdy.com/

      I hope the is helps. If you have any other questions feel free to ask me.

      Ann
      http://www.funtimebirdy.com

  3. Hi Ann
    Thank you very much for your early reply. I took my bird, Dori to avian vet today for a full check up as you advised. Jerry’s red feather look very pretty to me, and I really don’t mind if Dori has red feather unless she is healthy. I think it’s even prettier. Now I hope the result comes ok and she starts grow her new feather like Jerry. Again, thank you for your advise. say hello to Jerry from me(^ ^)

    Megumi From Japan.

    P.S. Yes, I got your new blog now. Please keep up date Jerry!

    • Hi Megumi,

      You are very welcome……Please keep me posted on Dori’s vet visit.

      Also, sleep is a very important factor that can contribute to feather plucking. I just wrote a blog on the importance of sleep for our birds on our new blogsite. I just posted it a few hours ago so you might want to check it out.

      Jerry says “Hello” back and as you are well aware he did actually say “Hello” to both you and is new Girl Friend Dori ❤

      Kisses and hugs to Dori from me!!!

      Ann

Leave a Reply

