5 Signs your Parrot may be Sick

Companion parrots are good at hiding any illnesses that they may have so this makes it difficult to know when they are sick until it is too late.

Here are some signs you should look for if you suspect there is something wrong with your feathered friend.

1.  Decreased appetite – Be aware of your feathered friend’s normal eating habits and watch to see if anything has changed.

2.  Lethargy/weakness – I have noticed that my flock likes to take a nap after eating their veggies.  If you notice that your feathered baby is taking more than just their normal nap…then it may be cause for concern.

3.  Difficulty or increased rate of breathing.  Parrots tend to breathe faster than humans especially when frightened by something.  However, if you notice that your feathered friend is breathing differently and they do not look frightened then it could signal a problem.

4.  Repeated episodes of regurgitation or vomiting.  – A lot of my flock members regurgitate to me as a sign of affection (I always try to discourage this behavior).  However if your feathered friend is vomiting or regurgitating too much a vet check is in order.

5.  A change in the appearance or frequency of its droppings. – I am always aware of how each one of my flocks droppings look.  Depending on what they have eaten.  Be aware of what you have fed your feathered friend and if nothing in their diet has changed but their droppings have then this could be a sign of a problem.

Be observant.  The most important advice I can give is become aware of your feathered friends normal behaviors this way if there is any change you will be aware of this change immediately and can seek help if necessary.

Ann Zych
FunTime Birdy

2 responses to “5 Signs your Parrot may be Sick

  1. This helps me.I just got a pet parakeet a few days ago,and this will help me alot.Also,is it normal for a NEW BABY parakeet not to be eating yet?I mean,I’ve already been able to teach him to “step up”(he is advanced),but is that normal for him to not eat yet?please help!!

    • Hi Mallory,

      When I brought my Parakeet Snowy home she was not eating either. I got very worried. Being in a new home can scare a baby bird enough not to eat. You can try some millet which helped Snowy eat. However, if he is still not eating a vet check may be needed just to make sure. Keep a close eye on the amount of food he may eat when no one is looking.

      Ann

Leave a Reply

