Brightly Colored Treats your Bird(s) can’t Resist

Parrot Eating Strawberries

Parrot Eating Strawberry

Summer is almost here and it’s a great time of the year for fresh fruit.  Our birds just love Bananas and Mangoes.

This year I think I will add some Strawberries and Blueberries to my bird’s days of fresh fruit.  For some reason they just love Bananas and Mangoes and not any other kind of fruit.  This year will be different.

My birds tend to eat what I am eating.   Did you ever notice that?  My birds start to get very curious to see what I am eating.  So I am going to spend more time eating Blueberries and Strawberries in front of them.

I will have no problem getting my Double Yellow Headed Amazon Kiwi to eat these new fruits because he is such a Mama’s boy that all I have to do is say “Mommy wants you to eat this because it is good for you” and he will do it. (LOL)  It is my other flock members that are going to be the “tough sell”.

I just read an interesting article on Bird Channel by Laurie Hess DVM of Veterinary Center for Birds & Exotics entitled “6 Brightly Colored & Healthy Treats Your Pet Bird Can’t Resist”.

In the article she suggests not only Strawberries and Blueberries but Yellow Peppers, Plums and Sugar Snap Peas.  What a great idea, I can now add these to my flocks diet and even better……mine!!!

Ann Zych
FunTime Birdy

Leave a Reply

