Rio the Movie Review by FunTime Birdy

Rio the MovieMy husband and I went to see Rio the Movie in 3D last week and we loved it.  We share our lives with many birds and we were looking forward to seeing “Rio” since there has not been a bird movie around since “Paulie”.

The 3D experience was excellent!  I have not seen a 3D movie in a very long time so I truly enjoyed that part.  There was one scene in the movie that made everyone laugh, however as a bird owner the statement rang so very true that I think only bird owners really got the joke.  “Jewel” the female bird looks at “Blue” and says “Is there anything else I need to know?”  Blue responds with “Yes, I can’t fly, I pick my beak and once in a while I pee in the bird bath!”  Our Severe Macaw Buddy actually picks his beak.  On occasion I have seen him stick his toenail in his nose to make himself sneeze. As all bird owners know, our domesticated birds tend to think of the water dish as a bird bath (they love to splash the water in the water dish) and I have caught more than one of them pooping in their water dish on occasion.

Throughout the movie they had the birds talking human English but at points they had them make squawking sounds as if to show that to our ear they are just making bird noises but to the other birds they are communicating.

I also got a kick out of “Blue” saying that he wished her were back in his bird cage with his bird swing, mirror and little bell.  I think at the time he missed the safety of his home.

All in all the movie was great and I can’t wait till it comes out on DVD so I can watch it again with our entire flock.

If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I strongly recommend seeing it or renting it when it comes out on DVD

Ann
FunTime Birdy

Leave a Reply

