The Importance of Daily Routines for Parrots

Sun Conure Sleeping

As I was putting my birds to bed tonight I started thinking about how important it is to have daily routines for our birdies.  Every night, I sing to our flock but not just a song to the group.   Each of our birds gets a separate song just for them.  No, I am not a good singer and no I would never try out for American Idol but my birds love it.  I guess they are tone deaf (LOL).

It is important to establish routines for our birdies so that they can feel secure that certain things will happen at certain times of the day or night.  I always try to put my birds to bed at the same time every night.  I know that sometimes that is hard to do because life just gets in the way.  Nevertheless, I really try to be consistent with their bed time.  I never miss a night of singing to them even when I am really tired.  Tonight I realized that from start to finish (cleaning their cages, changing water and pellet dishes and of course singing) it takes me and my husband about 1 hour to get all my guys tucked in for bed.

All my birds seem to look forward to this nightly ritual and I think it helps them feel secure that they are safe and that their flock leaders (my husband and I ) are safe.

Leave a Reply

