How to Get Your Bird to Eat Vegetables Part 1

Green Leafy Veggies

Green Leafy Veggies

It is so important for a parrot even a small parakeet to have a diverse diet.  No bird should ever just eat seeds alone.  The trick is how do I get my bird to start eating a well balanced diet filled with Pellets, fruits and green leafy veggies?  This can be easier said than done.  This is my first tip on how to get your bird eating greens.

My Cockatoo Marshmellow loves scrambled eggs.  Did you ever give your bird scrambled eggs?   If not then you should try scrambled eggs plain for 2 to 3 times and make sure your bird is really loving them before going to the next step.  Marshmellow already loves eggs so I was able to move right into putting some veggies in a blender.  I make sure the veggies are really ground up.  Then I mix in the eggs with the veggies and scramble them. Marshmellow always comes right over to eat her Veggie Egg combo.  It is great because I know she is eating her veggies while she is eating her egg.  Some weeks I try to really put a lot of veggies in but I do notice that when it is too green she seems to run away so I have to watch my mixture. (Please note this technique is meant to be used for a short time period……Just to help your bird get used to the taste of the vegetables.  As your bird becomes accustomed to the vegetables discontinue the use of egg in his or her diet.)

TIP: You can either use fresh veggies or plain frozen veggies which ever is easiest for you.  I have used both and never had a problem.

Once your bird is happily eating the veggie egg combo you can slowly substitute egg whites for the yokes and really make a healthy scrambled Veggie Egg.

I would love to discuss other recipes and ideas for getting our birds to eat healthy.  Please leave me a comment so we can share ideas.

3 responses to “How to Get Your Bird to Eat Vegetables Part 1

  1. If you scramble the egg shells in with the eggs & veggies, the birds get an extra boost of calcium as well!

  2. That is a great idea. I have done this in the past but forgot to mention it in this post.

  3. Pingback: Importance of Vitamin A for your Parrot « FunTime Birdy Parrot Lovers Blog

Leave a Reply

